Be part of it Menu

The plane

Stratospheric solar airplane

solarstratos-image-avion-science

Introduction

A plane for science

Exploring distant space we wish to contribute primarily to the protection of our atmosphere, this requires a better understanding of what is happening. The SolarStratos Mission will fly at an altitude little frequented in a fragile environment, propelled solely by solar energy without any pollutant emissions and will give us the possibility to make new measurements, never done before.

In the future, the exploration of the stratosphere may allow us to extend and to understand humanity… Who knows…

At a glance

Characteristics

Propulsion

Solarstratos is propelled by a double electric motor (2 x 19 kW) running at max 2’200 rpm. The propeller has 3 blades and a 1.75 meter diameter. For the record flight, a new propeller will be installed, optimized for high altitude climbing.

Canopy

Our plane’s canopy will protect the pilot during the flight and gives the plane its aerodynamic shape to optimize air resistance.

Space suit

The space suit has been developped by our partner Zvezda. Weighing 12 kg, pressurized, it will protect Raphaël from the very low air pressure in the stratosphere and will provide the oxygen required to breathe in high altitude.

Seats and cockpit

The cockpit is equipped with the usual aeraunautical instruments as well as specific equipment for solar and electric flight. During the flight in the stratosphere, the rear seat will be used to accommodate the space suit equipment. The cockpit comprises two seats placed in tandem (one behind the other).

Solar cells

The solar field of about 22 square meters, on the wings of SolarStratos, is covered with latest generation solar cells, with an efficiency of 22-24%. They will provide energy to the lithium-ion batteries which have a total capacity of 14 kWh, expandable to 21 kWh.

HB-SXA

The fuselage and wings are made entirely of carbon fiber, ensuring lightness and strength. The very large wingspan allows for flying at low speed.

Be part of it

Experience this 21st century eco-exploration

By becoming a member of the “SolarStratos” club, you help promote and support our challenge.

Rejoindre l’aventure Menu

L’avion

Avion solaire stratosphérique

solarstratos-image-avion-science

Introduction

Un avion pour la science

En explorant la haute atmosphère, nous souhaitons contribuer en priorité à la protection de notre climat, cela passe par une meilleure compréhension de ce qui s’y passe. La Mission SolarStratos volera à une altitude très peu fréquentée, dans un milieu fragile, propulsée uniquement à l’énergie solaire, sans la moindre émission de polluant et nous donnera la possibilité de réaliser des mesures inédites, rarement effectuées jusqu’à ce jour.

L’avion a été dessiné par Calin Gologan et la société allemande Elektra Solar GmbH.

Détails

Caractéristiques

Propulsion

SolarStratos est propulsé grâce à un double moteur électrique de 2 x 19 kW tournant à un maximum de 2’200 tpm. L’hélice comporte 3 pales et a un diamètre de 1.75 m. Pour le vol record, une nouvelle hélice sera installée, optimisée pour la montée à haute altitude.

Verrière

La verrière de notre avion permet de protéger le pilote durant le vol et donne à l’avion sa forme aérodynamique afin de présenter le moins de résistance possible.

Combinaison spatiale

La combinaison spatiale a été développée par notre partenaire Zvedza. D’un poids de 12 kg, pressurisée, elle protégera Raphaël de la très faible pression de la stratosphère et lui fournira l’oxygène nécessaire pour respirer en altitude.

Sièges et cockpit

Le cockpit est équipé des instruments habituels en aéronautique ainsi que d’équipements spécifiques au vol solaire et électrique. Lors du vol dans la stratosphère, le siège arrière sera utilisé pour y installer les équipements nécessaires au fonctionnement de la combinaison spatiale. Le cockpit comprend deux places en tandem (l’un derrière l’autre).

Cellules solaires

Le champ solaire de 22 m² environ, sur les ailes de SolarStratos, est couvert de cellules de dernière génération, d’un rendement situé entre 22 et 24%. Elles alimenteront les batteries lithium-ion d’une capacité totale de 14 kWh, extensible à 21 kWh.

HB-SXA

Le fuselage et les ailes sont entièrement construites en fibre de carbone, assurant légèreté et solidité. La très grande envergure des ailes permet un vol à une vitesse réduite.

Rejoindre l'aventure

Vivez cette éco-exploration du 21ème siècle

En devenant un membre du club « SolarStratos », vous contribuez à promouvoir et à soutenir notre défi.